Comparisons

I had an anxiety attack of inadequacy last Friday evening. It was all my personal concerns about work and life (which in the grand scheme of things don’t really matter) compounded with all the awesome things that are happening in my Facebook friends lives. Comparing myself to what I see on my newsfeed is ridiculous, since everyone can meticulously curate their profile. I’m guilty of curating my profile — deleting things that don’t get any likes, posting life events that will generate lots of comments, etc. Once I calmed down enough (rather, the rational part of my brain finally gained control), I realized that I need to break the habit of checking Facebook whenever I have “a moment to kill.” Reading about other people’s lives sure as hell isn’t doing any good for mine.

Back when I was looking for a job after graduating, I spent some time looking at and reading posts on Raptitude. It’s an awesome site that I forgot about until today. I specifically want to focus on thinking about the insights pointed out in this post. My plan is to consider each point for a week and write at least one reflection during that time. I’ll see where that takes me in learning to become more mindful…

“Mindfulness is simply being aware of what is happening right now without wishing it were different; enjoying the pleasant without holding on when it changes (which it will); being with the unpleasant without fearing it will always be this way (which it won’t).”
– James Baraz

Leave a Reply

